Piper Reads!

We’re on lesson 57 of “Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons” (okay, a little farther since I made this video, but that’s where she is in this video), and I just love it! We started back when she was 4 1/2 and I was amazed at how easy it was for her. I imagine it would be for any child because you just build on their knowledge so systematically that they don’t even seem to realize they’re learning anything. We stopped for a couple of months when we moved (which is why we’re only at 57), but she picked it up easily when we started again. As you might be able to see in the video, her biggest problem is when she is not even looking at the page and just throwing words out there once she’s got the drift of the story, or sees the first letter of a word and just fills it in with another word that starts with the same letter, but it has gotten a lot better. On the days when she’s the least tired she reads the most fluently and on the days when she’s tired, she has such a hard time focusing, and also likes to free associate with each word that she reads, which can make the lessons take 5 times as long. (Example: “BIT – I prefer nibble… HOP – *jumps up and demonstrates*… SICK – That’s when you put a bowl by the side of my bed for me to frow up in. HATE – That’s a bad word. BUT – *giggle*”). I really love that she is not just memorizing a bunch of words, or just learning all the words that end in a particular sound altogether, but learning an approach to reading that enables her to figure out new words on her own. I also love that it just tells me what to do, because I wouldn’t even know where to begin teaching a child to read. Unfortunately, it’s thrown a wrench in my ability to spell words to other adults so she doesn’t know what I’m talking about. I suppose that was bound to end someday.

Leave a Reply

